March Forth

March Forth

March Forth

Last night I attended the opening of the March Forth exhibition at the Bamboo Centre in Melville. I arrived a little late, after the speeches (because kittens) but still managed to grab a glass of wine and look at the art and chat to a few of the artists.

Art

Joburg

Do yourselves a favour and check it out during the next week, before you lose the chance. There are some outstanding pieces of art – and it’s probably quite affordable if you aren’t a school teacher. I particularly loved Julie Martinez’s colourful, playful pieces as well as the recognisable Melville, Rosebank and Parkview landscapes (sorry, I didn’t pay attention to the artists’ names!).

art talk

art talk

Instagram

Instagram

I have seen one of Gordon Froud’s giant traffic cone constructions outside Art It Is in Parkwood on my way past through the traffic, and had a chance to look at a few more of them last night, but I’m still not sure what they mean. Why didn’t I ask him?! I really should do an art course, since I love art so much, but often have no idea what I’m missing. My responses are purely emotional.

Gordon Froud

Gordon Froud

As with all these events, the who’s who of Joburg were out, from actresses and authors. What I love about Melville is that there is a real sense that people are there because they are interested in the art, and are not just there to be seen. I’m sure an exhibition has some kudos when an esteemed artist like Diane Victor is around.

The excellent, the good and the bizarre

The excellent and the bizarre

I enjoyed my chat with Yannis Generalis about the process of setting up an exhibition, and the politics and personality clashes that are bound to happen when a bunch of creatives get together. He’s a most entertaining speaker, and I wish I had heard his speech. But kittens are just so difficult to extract oneself from – believe me: I have one on my shoulder as I write!

Art lovers

Art lovers

Do pop over to the Bamboo centre and check out the March Forth exhibition, even though it’s no longer March the Forth. It runs for 10 days. It’s a beautiful little centre – you can browse books at Love Books, have a very good meal at The Service Station, and apparently Great Eastern Food Bar too (although I haven’t eaten there). There are plenty of little ironies about the place, which I just love. I think you might just too.

Ironies are marbles that are made of steel.

Ironies are marbles that are made of steel.

Kudu

Kudu

Ginger Einstein et al

Ginger Einstein et al

 

Leave a Reply

