Heritage Month

Peace Starts

Peace Starts Now!

Before I give the impression that September was all doom and gloom, I thought I’d better just mention the lovely things I did experience during September. I’m still way too busy to write much, but here goes:

Long horse

Long horse

1) My wonderful friends invited my girls and I to their farm in the Free State. Whenever I go there, I really do feel like I am in a Free State. It’s beautifully quiet, beautifully scenic and the kids are free to roam and explore.

Posing with ma Brrr!

Posing with ma Brrr!

2) I went camping in the Magaliesberg. Granted, this was business, not pleasure, and I had 71 17-year-olds in tow, but to be out of the city is always rejuvenating. Thankfully my school girls were great company and well behaved, so I could take photographs and enjoy the outdoors.

Cito making peace, not war.

Cito making peace, not war.

3) I celebrated my best friend’s birthday along with hundreds of other revellers at the Peace Starts concert at Heia Safari Ranch. It was a beautiful day with a beautiful cause. Again, being outdoors in a beautiful setting really helps fill the cup.

Shifty Gnu by Brett Bailey

Shifty Gnu by Brett Bailey

4) As it was Shifty Records’ 30th birthday, I attended a couple of their events at Alliance Francias – including a fantastic talk about protest music with Warwick Sony and Lesego Rampolokeng. The month of memories and celebrations culminated with a concert at the Bassline on Heritage Day with fantastic music and real blasts from the past.

In music we trust

In music we trust

So while September was crazy busy and hectic, there were enough wonderful events to ensure that I didn’t collapse in a heap. I’m so glad that my heritage includes music and dancing. I thrive on that!

Urban Creep

Urban Creep

Gee jou hart vir Hillbrow - Tonia Selley Moller heads up the Gereformeerde Blues Band

Gee jou hart vir Hillbrow – Tonia Moller heads up the Gereformeerde Blues Band

Roll on October – the wind up towards December certainly has begun!

I certainly do!

I certainly do!

Leave a Reply

